Tags

, ,

Adjective

overthwart (comparative more overthwartsuperlative most overthwart)

  1. Having a transverse position; placed or situated across; hence, opposite
  2. Crossing in kind or disposition; perverse; adverse; opposing. 

Noun

overthwart

  1. (obsolete) That which is overthwart; an adverse circumstance; opposition.

Was I narcissistic because I used Facebook and Twitter, or did I use them because I was narcissistic?

I find myself often trying not to end my sentences with prepositions, even though such a prescriptive stance when it comes to grammar seems pretty anachronistic these days. That being said, I guess its not something I insist upon. 

I found a sliver of sunlight in which to sit yesterday. It was a perfect angle, shunting between two buildings, the alleyway and a couple of dumpsters. Then me, my newspaper, my coffee, my sandwich.

I read that there was a study undertaken of 18 – 24 year olds, the purpose of which was to gauge their knowledge of basic science. The results are somewhat depressing. If I were to pose the following two questions to you, what would your response be?

1. How long does it take for the Earth to complete one orbit around the Sun.

2. True or False. The earliest humans roamed the Earth at the same time as dinosaurs. 

The answers are respectively, a year (I’ll take 365 days, or anything within that approximate ballpark) and false, goddamnit!

You shouldn’t even have to think about those answers. They should tumble from your lips like the words that fall as (pro)verb(i)al diarrhea from a keyboard into cyberspace. How many people answered incorrectly? A good 40% to the first question, and somewhere in the realms of a third of respondents to the second.

Perhaps my opinion of 18 – 24 year old intelligence is too optimistic, but I’d say if anything, these facts come less readily to my mind now, compared to when I fell within that particular age demographic.

In other news, an American man, Michael Boatwright, was found passed out in a California motel room. When he awoke, he spoke only Swedish and no English, had no memory of his family or his past life, and insisted that in fact he was a Swedish man named Johan Ek.

I quite like the name Johan Ek. I’m going to add it to the list, which thus far includes Zion Mumbler (seen on a parcel in a post office once) and Velinda DeWeatherly (seen in a documentary about vote tampering in US elections) as unlikely protagonists in even less likely future novels. 

 

